2007 Result

Cricket World Cup Review 2007 - Australia Win Third Successive Tournament

The 2007 Cricket World Cup was held in the West Indies and it would go onto be one of the less exciting tournaments in the history of the tournament, it was a tournament that many thought lasted too long and was the catalyst for changes to the format in 2011. Having said that, there were some excellent matches along the way which ended with the two best teams in Australia and Sri Lanka meeting in the final at the Kensington Oval in Barbados.

To get to the final Australia had dispatched South Africa with ease in the Semi-Finals while Sri Lanka looked impressive when beating New Zealand in the last four. The Final itself though was an excellent match with Adam Gilchrist producing a simply sensational performance to lead the Aussies to glory. Gilchrist smashed a remarkable 149 runs off of just 104 balls to put Australia in command. Sri Lanka had a decent attempt at chasing it down but never realistically looked like getting there as they stumbled to 215/8 off of their rain delay 36 overs.

It was a tournament that belonged to Australia with Matthew Hayden scoring the most runs, and Glenn McGrath taking the most wickets, while the performance of Gilchrist in the Final is one that will live long in the memory.